## Record Group 1: Board of Elections

## **Table of Contents**

	~	
Election	Commissioner	Page 2

**Established:** [information not located; earliest information available for 1908] Board of

Elections with commissioners

**Abolished:** 1921 County Clerk vested with powers and duties until 1936

**Reinstituted:** 1936 Article III of the New York State Election Law stipulates two

commissioners, one each from the two parties which polled the largest number of votes in the prior election; recommended by their respective parties and appointed by the Board of Legislators

for a 2-year term

**Web:** http://www.westchestergov.com/boe/

-----

1908-1913	William J. Wallin	Republican	
1914-1915	George S. Bailie	Republican	
1916-1920	George S. Bailie John B. Cortright	Republican Democrat	
1921	George S. Bailie Rose V. Carroll	Republican Democrat [political party not verified]	
1922-1935	Department of Elections functioned under County Clerk who reported on its operation; see under County Clerk (RG6)		
1936-1941	Ernest F. Eilert James H. Sullivan	Republican Democrat	
1942	Ernest F. Eilert James H. Sullivan	Republican, died 1943 Democrat	
1943	Walter W. Westall James H. Sullivan	Republican, appointed Aug. 1943 Democrat	
1944-1947	Walter W. Westall James H. Sullivan	Republican Democrat	
1948	Walter W. Westall James H. Sullivan	Republican Democrat, died 1949	

1949	Walter W. Westall Monroe Simon	Republican Democrat, appointed June 1949
1950-1954	Walter W. Westall Monroe Simon	Republican Democrat
1955-1962	Walter W. Westall William F. Luddy	Republican Democrat
1963-1964	Carl J. Noe William J. VanWart	Republican Democrat
1965	Philip J. Livaccari William J. VanWart	Republican Democrat
1966-1968	Joseph A. Cassidy William J. VanWart	Republican Democrat
1969-1974	Albert T. Hayduk William J. VanWart	Republican Democrat
1975-1981	Albert T. Hayduk Joseph McNamara	Republican Democrat
1982-1989	Antonia D'Apice Marion B. Oldy	Republican Democrat
1990-1998	Carolee C. Sunderland Lloyd King, Jr.	Republican Democrat
1999-2010	Carolee C. Sunderland Reginald A. LaFayette	Republican Democrat
2011-	Douglas A. Colety Reginald A. LaFayette	Republican Democrat