Record Group 3: Board of Legislators

Table of Contents

Board of Supervisors, Chairman	Page 2
Board of Legislators, Chairman	Page 6
Board of Supervisors, Clerk	Page 7
Board of Legislators, Clerk	Page 9
County Legislature, History	Page 10

Abolished: 1969

Succeeded by: Board of Legislators, Chair

In the early years of the Board of Supervisors, one of the Judges of the Court of Common Pleas acted as Chairman.

1701-1771	[records not available]
1772-1812	[information not located]
1813-1814	Abraham Odell
1815-1820	Ezra Lockwood
1820	Thomas Tompkins
1821-1822	John Townsend
1823-1825	Thomas Tompkins
1826-1827	David Miller
1828	Richard M. Popham
1829	David Miller
1830	Zabud June
1831-1832	David Miller
1833-1835	Jeremiah Anderson
1836-1843	Lawrence Davenport
1843	Richard Palmer
1844-1845	Benjamin M. Brown
1846-1847	W. W. Scrugham

1850 Daniel Hunt

John B. Haskin

1852-1853 Robert H. Coles

Joseph T. Carpenter

1855 Daniel Hunt

1856-1857 Alsop H. Lockwood

Frost Horton

1859 Alsop H. Lockwood

1860-1861 Abraham Hatfield

1862 Albert Badeau

1863-1865 Edmund G. Sutherland

1866-1869 William Cauldwell

1870-1871 William H. Robertson

1872-1873 Francis M. Carpenter

1874 George W. Davids

1875-1876 S. Wm. Johnson

1877-1879 Abraham O. Wilsea

1880 David Quackinbush

James Hopkins

1882 Odle Close

1883-1886 Mathias Banta

1887	William Ryan
1888	Mathias Banta
1889-1891	Miles Adams
1892	Mathias Banta
1893	Chauncey T. Secor
1894-1895	Francis M. Carpenter
1896	Gideon W. Davenport
1897-1899	Chauncey T. Secor
1899-1900	Charles M. Lane
1901-1902	John M. Shinn
1902-1903	Frank Hardy
1903-1905	Edgar K. Brown
1905-1906	Chauncey T. Secor
1906-1907	John J. Sinnott
1908-1910	Edward A. Forsyth
1911-1914	Edward P. Barrett
1915-1916	Charles D. Millard
1917-1919	George J. Werner
1920-1921	David S. Murden
1922-1925	Frederick P. Close
1926-1927	Charles D. Millard
1928-1929	Howard R. Washburn

1929-1933	Herbert C. Gerlach	
1933-1935	Frederick G. Schmidt	
1935-1937	William C. Duell	
1938-1940	Ralph A. Mc Clelland	
1941	Raphael A. Carretta	
1942-1944	Robert B. Stewart	
1945-1947	Richard H. Levet	
1948	William F. Horan	
1949	Jefferson Armstrong	
1950	Arthur G. Sammarco	resigned November 1950
1950 1950-1951	Arthur G. Sammarco Jefferson Armstrong	resigned November 1950
		resigned November 1950
1950-1951	Jefferson Armstrong	resigned November 1950
1950-1951 1952-1953	Jefferson Armstrong James D. Hopkins	resigned November 1950
1950-1951 1952-1953 1954-1955	Jefferson Armstrong James D. Hopkins Hugh S. Coyle	resigned November 1950
1950-1951 1952-1953 1954-1955 1956-1957	Jefferson Armstrong James D. Hopkins Hugh S. Coyle Howard H. Schrecke	resigned November 1950
1950-1951 1952-1953 1954-1955 1956-1957 1958	Jefferson Armstrong James D. Hopkins Hugh S. Coyle Howard H. Schrecke John H. Downing	resigned November 1950

1970

Succeeded: Board of Supervisors, Chairman

The Chair is elected by the Board of Legislators from among its members at the organizational meeting after election, which is held the first Monday of January.

Web: Biographies of current legislators, including the Chair, are available at http://www.westchesterlegislators.com/legislators.html

1970-1973	Herman S. Geist
1974-1977	Thomas F. Keane, Jr.
1978-1982	Andrew P. O'Rourke
1983-1984	Andrew A. Albanese
1985-1989	Edward J. Brady
1990-1991	John E. Hand
1992-1995	Stephen P. Tenore
1996-1997	George Oros
1998-2001	George S. Latimer
2002-2003	Lois Bronz
2004-2009	William J. Ryan
2010-2013	Kenneth W. Jenkins
2014	Michael B. Kaplowitz

Abolished: 1969

Succeeded by: Board of Legislators, Clerk

1701-1771 [records not available]

1772-1778 Robert Graham

1778-1807 Abijah Gilbert

1807 Caleb Tompkins

1808-1809 Elijah Ward

1810-1823 Samuel Deall

1823-1846 John B. Underhill

1846 Elisha Horton

1847-1849 Robert H. Coles

Daniel K. Sherwood

1851-1852 Abram Hyatt

Thomas W. Smith

1854-1858 Hiram P. Rowell

1858-1861 Edmund G. Sutherland

1862-1867 J. Malcolm Smith

1868-1869 Charles E. Johnson

1870 W. W. Pierson

1871-1873 Charles E. Johnson

1874-1875	Casper C. Childs, Jr.	
1876-1878	Joseph O. Miller	
1879	William A. Miller	
1880	J. Malcolm Smith	
1881-1882	Henry C. Henderson	
1883-1892	Charles E. Johnson	
1893	M. James Mooney	
1894-1904	Edwin R. Hopkins	
1905-1907	James J. Fleming	
1908-1916	Harvey B. Green	
1917-1937	Fred L. Merritt	deceased 1937
1937-1939	Florence A. Devine	elected April 5, 1937
1939-1961	Florence A. Bause	retired Dec. 31, 1960
1962-1969	Elmer J. Maloney	

Succeeded: Board of Supervisors, Clerk

The Clerk is elected by the Board of Legislators for a two year term; the clerk is not a member of the Board.

2007-

1970-1979	Elmer J. Maloney	resigned Dec. 31, 1979
1980-1991	Anthony J. Giambruno	
1992-2002	Patricia Gorski	
2003-2007	Perry M. Ochacher	

Tina Seckerson

Web: The Board of Legislators offers a somewhat more detailed history at http://westchesterlegislators.com/bol-history.html

County legislative bodies in New York State had their beginning in 1682 when an assembly of freeholders approved dividing the province into shires and counties. Westchester County was established in 1683. At that time the affairs of each town in the county were governed by the town treasurer. In 1703 this title was changed to Town Supervisor. Unfortunately the minutes of the Westchester County Board of Supervisors from 1701 to 1772 have not been found.

In 1788 the State Legislature divided all existing counties into towns which then acquired legal status. The Board of Supervisors, made up of 45 representatives elected for a two-year term, became the law-making branch of county government. In 1954 each of the eighteen towns in the county elected one Supervisor to the Board and the six cities elected a total of 27 supervisors. The Board of Supervisors continued to exist unchanged until 1970 despite its unequal representation of the towns. By 1980 Mt. Kisco had been added making it the nineteenth town in the county.

Chapter 324 of the Laws of 1914 provided that the Board might appoint a commission to study the method of government of the county. After several unsuccessful attempts to change the Board of Supervisors, created more than 250 years ago, it went out of existence on January 1, 1970 under court order. It was replaced by a County Board of Legislators composed of 17 members who are elected for a two-year term and each represent districts of approximately 50,000 constituents. The Charter requires that the Board meet at least once a month. Its officers are elected at the first meeting in January and its Clerk is appointed at that time.

As of 2014, the Board of Legislators operates with thirteen standing committees, and five task forces/subcommittees. The Board passes local laws, acts and resolutions, all requiring nine votes for passage. Laws and acts are then sent to the County Executive for his signature or disapproval. A veto can be overridden by a two-thirds vote of the Board.

A key power of the Board concerns finances: appropriation of funds, approving the budget and levying taxes. It also approves the appointment by the County Executive of certain department heads. For additional information, see also: http://westchesterlegislators.com/about-the-westchester-county-board-of-legislators.html